Justin Gentile won the mens division and Mari Falco won the women’s division. Cass Cunningham won the masters women division for the 6th consecutive year. Ted Trocky won the masters men division for the 12th time. Ted Nash, 85, won the Golden Age Award for oldest runner for the 12th consecutive year.
Men Women
Winner Justin Gentile, Malta Mari Falco, Vesper
First Guest Stephen Chappell Anna Cruse
First Novice Thomas Russel, Conshocken Kathryn Schiro, Penn AC
First Master Ted Trocky, Malta Cass Cunningham, Vesper
First Junior Tim Scheuritzel, Conshocken Erika Arnold, Hines
Team Point Awards Men – top 5 runners Women – top 3 runners
Undine Vesper

Eligibility Rules

Any and all members of Schuylkill Navy clubs and its affiliates are eligible to compete. Affiliates include Whitemarsh Boat Club, Sedgeley Club, Philadelphia Adaptive Rowing, Conshohocken Rowing Center, and Philadelphia City Rowing.

Friends and family who do not meet the above requirements may run as guests. First guest runners, male and female, will receive separate prizes. They cannot run as a team and will not count in the team scoring.


  • Juniors – high school students, per USRowing juniors definition
  • Masters – men and women, 40 years and over
  • Open – all other eligible runners – men and women not eligible to run masters or juniors divisions
  • Guests – all others. Prize for first guest, male and female, only. Guests not eligible for other prizes.
  • Novice – running in the Turkey Trot for the first time. A trophy and prize is presented to the first male and female novice. Novice is a subcategory, so you enter novice open, novice master, novice junior or novice guest.

Entry Fees and Deadlines

All entries must paid via Regatta Central as part of the entry process. Entry fee is $25 per person, $30 after November 18. Phone and email entries will not be accepted.  Any late entries after Tuesday, November 21, must be done on Thursday morning between 7:30 and 8:30 am at Malta.

Late Entries

Late entries accepted thru Nov 21 on Regatta Central. Late entries after November 21 will be accepted only at registration between 7:30 and 8:30 am Thursday at Malta BC. The late entry fee is $30.

Race Day Registration

Club designees may pick up registration packets on Thursday morning between 7:30 and 8:30 at Malta. Registration will be closed promptly at 8:30.

Donate a prize

One of the things that makes the Turkey Trot so memorable is the prizes. Each year the committee solicits prizes from the Philadelphia rowing community. We typically line up 60 to 100 prizes and everyone selects a prize in the order in which they finished.

  • To donate on-line, go to Regatta Central and make your selection.

Minimum donation is $25. Your name will be engraved on the prize or a label, and you’ll feel good about contributing.

For prize donations questions, contact Margaret Meigs.

The Course

The course is 5 and 5/8 miles over hilly terrain. Starting at Malta Boat Club on Kelly Drive, the runners go outbound on Kelly to Brewery Hill, turn right and go up and over Girard Avenue bridge, then right onto Lansdowne Avenue. Just past Sweetbriar cutoff, the course turns right and starts the true “cross country” segment: from here the race is over grassy surface. Runners go to Meade Monument, then follow the cyclone fence to the Pagoda entrance gate, cross thru the service entrance to Belmont Plateau, up the hill to Belmont Mansion, and return by way of Brewery Hill, down Kelly Drive to Malta.


Points for team trophies will be scored only by the first five finishers from each club for mens teams and the first three finishers from each club for womens teams. Only those eligible in accordance with the Eligibility Rules will be permitted to run in the race. Anyone running with the wrong number (or someone else’s number) will be disqualified and their team (club) will be assessed an additional 25 points.

Award Ceremony

The award ceremony will be held at Fairmount Rowing Association this year. Awards will begin at 11:00 am. We thank Fairmount for their hospitality in hosting the awards ceremony.

Past Winners

Everybody from C.T. Barrow in 1899 to 9-time winner Mike Teti and reigning champion Justin Gentile. From Karin Constant in 1973 to reigning champion Mari Falco.  All Junior, Masters, Novice and Guest winners since 2000.